[from the KC Symphony website:]

Matthias Pintscher, guest conductor

George Li, piano

GYORGY LIGETI San Francisco Polyphony

MAURICE RAVEL Piano Concerto in G Major

MAURICE RAVEL Rapsodie espagnole

ALEXANDER SCRIABIN Poème d’extase (Poem of Ecstasy)

Guest conductor Matthias Pintscher brings his unique insight to György Ligeti’s San Francisco Polyphony, filled with melodic patterns rising out of the fog. Ravel’s Piano Concerto delights the mind and senses alike with its wit, charm and effervescence. Pianist extraordinaire George Li returns to Kansas City for another star turn in this delightful work. Drawing on his mother’s Basque heritage, Ravel captured the flavor of Spain with bejeweled timbres in his Rapsodie espagnole. You’ll be enthralled by its sensuously lithe lines and rhythmic vitality. Then, Scriabin’s obsessive quest for transcendence and metaphysical musings are on full display in The Poem of Ecstasy. Its voluptuous sound will envelop you in a wonderfully mystical experience, and the truly ecstatic ending will raise the roof!

I'll be playing the Julia Irene Kauffman Casavant pipe organ on The Poem of Ecstasy.