Kansas City Symphony: "Brahms' First, Bruch's Violin Concerto"

The Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, 1601 Broadway Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64108

[from the KC Symphony website]

Stuart Murray Turnbull Odyssey (World Premiere)

Max Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1

Johannes Brahms Symphony No. 1

Michael Stern, conductor

Randall Goosby, violin

Yet another KC Symphony World Premiere opens this concert, Stuart Murray Turnbull’s Odyssey, an extravagant, colorful, twinkling and imaginative showpiece. With its delicate dancing strings lines, intricate woodwind flourishes and shifting rhythms, it’s a piece that musicians and audiences will find refreshing and contemporary. [I will be playing celesta for this piece.]

At 24 years old, Randall Goosby has appeared as guest soloist with numerous orchestras throughout the United States since winning First Prize at the Annual Sphinx Concerto Competition in 2010 at age 13. He brings his passionate virtuosity to Bruch’s warmly singing violin concerto.

Suffering from self-doubt and an intense writer’s block, it took Brahms 14 years to complete his first symphony. It was well worth the struggle as the result is masterful, on a grand scale, with the ending of the work standing as one of the most uplifting creations in all of music.