[from the KC Symphony website]

Gemma New, guest conductor

Benjamin Beilman, violin

Jan Kraybill, organ

Maurice Ravel Mother Goose Suite

Chris Rogerson Violin Concerto (world premiere, Kansas City Symphony commission)

Camille Saint-Saëns Symphony No. 3 "Organ"

Guest conductor Gemma New is taking the symphonic world by storm with her dynamic and insightful leadership. The New Zealand-born conductor will bring to life the Mother Goose fairy tales so colorfully set to music by Maurice Ravel.

Chris Rogerson is no stranger to Kansas City Symphony audiences and his inspired music is always a delight to hear. We’ll be the first to hear his new violin concerto, premiered by violin phenom Benjamin Beilman. The New York Times notes, “Mr. Beilman’s handsome technique, burnished sound and quiet confidence…showed why he has come so far so fast.”

Better known as the “Organ Symphony,” Camille Saint-Saëns’ Symphony No. 3 makes good use of its namesake instrument thundering away in the exuberantly grand final movement. Kansas City’s own organist extraordinaire Jan Kraybill will join the orchestra for this exhilarating, bold music that awakens the spirit.